Nancy Ann's Blog

Fairy Poems

Posted on: October 2, 2009

Fairy Bread
Come up here, O dusty feet!
     Here is fairy bread to eat.
Here in my retiring room,
Children, you may dine
On the golden smell of broom
     And the shade of pine;
And when you have eaten well,
Fairy stories hear and tell.

by Robert Louis Stevenson
From Child's Garden of Verses
Fairy Land
by William Shakespeare. 1564–1616 
Over hill, over dale,
Thorough bush, thorough brier,
Over park, over pale,
Thorough flood, thorough fire,
I do wander everywhere,
Swifter than the moon’s sphere;
And I serve the fairy queen,
To dew her orbs upon the green.
The cowslips tall her pensioners be:
In their gold coats spots you see;
Those be rubies, fairy favours,
In those freckles live their savours:
I must go seek some dewdrops here
And hang a pearl in every cowslip’s ear.

 
In Fairyland 
The fairy poet takes a sheet
Of moonbeam, silver white;
His ink is dew from daisies sweet,
His pen a point of light.

My love I know is fairer far
Than his, (though she is fair,)
And we should dwell where fairies are,
For I could praiser her there.

JOYCE KILMER



The Fairy Yard
Out in the fairy yard I see faces smiling up at me; Dainty faces free to roam all about their garden home. How I wish that I could go down to where the river's flow washes on the sparkling sand; Hold a fairy in my hand; Or into the deepest wood (though I know I never should) There to laugh with them and play in the coolness of the day. Oh a fairy song to sing, Glide upon a tiny wing underneath the moon and sun; Fairy life is full of fun! Copyright 2004 Randi Kuhne Reprinted with permission.  

I'd Love To Be A Fairy's Child by Robert Graves

Children born of fairy stock Never need for shirt or frock, Never want for food or fire, Always get their heart's desire: Jingle pockets full of gold, Marry when they're seven years old. Every fairy child may keep Two strong ponies and ten sheep; All have houses, each his own, Built of brick or granite stone; They live on cherries, they run wild I'd love to be a fairy's child.
Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Nancy Ann’s Twittering

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Pages within Nancy Ann’s Blog

